Paragraph 1686

1686. The Order of Christian Funerals (Ordo exsequiarum) of the Roman liturgy gives three types of funeral celebrations, corresponding to the three places in which they are conducted (the home, the church, and the cemetery), and according to the importance attached to them by the family, local customs, the culture, and popular piety. This order of celebration is common to all the liturgical traditions and comprises four principal elements:

Aprofunde seus conhecimentos

554. In what does the prayer of intercession consist?

394. How are sins distinguished according to their gravity?

280. In what way is the Eucharist a memorial of the sacrifice of Christ?

518. How is justice and solidarity among nations brought about?

154. What are the characteristics of the people of God?

244. Does the Church need places in order to celebrate the liturgy?

433. Why is the Christian moral life indispensable for the proclamation of the Gospel?

Acesse nossos estudos biblicos:

How to deal with conflicts and disagreements between brothers: the example of Joseph’s children (Joshua 17-19)?

What is the responsibility of Christian leaders according to James 3:1-12?

What is the importance of Christian discipline according to 1 Corinthians 9:24-27?

What is the main message of Jonah’s story and how does it reveal God’s grace?

The importance of hospitality and caring for others: The generosity of Tobias and his wife Sara.

How important is God’s love to our lives, according to 1 John 4:8?

How does the story of Rich and Lazarus warn us about the consequences of greed? (Luke 16:19-31)